Welcome to the Nut Kase World

January 24, 2012 at 11:48 pm 4 comments

Welcome to the Nut Kase!

If you haven’t already figured it out, this a little blog about my healthy adventures that will be a pretty awesome life-changer. So let’s jump right in!

This afternoon I met my good friend Erin for lunch.

She sipped on a banana-protein smoothie while I enjoyed this kale and arugula salad with a little turkey and oil-n-vinegar dressing. Nonfat, plain Greek yogurt with a drizzle of agave and frozen blackberries on the side. You will soon find that kale and Greek yogurt rule my fridge.

We spent about an hour chit chatting about our workouts for the week. She is pretty big into cycling right now, and while I have hit the bikes before–I always find it to be such an uncomfortable workout. I either end up with a wedgie or a rash between my thighs. I probably just need to invest in a nice pair of biker’s shorts.

After having my design class until seven, I came home with one thing on my mind–sweet potatoes fries! They are so yummy, perfectly sweet and nutritious to boot.

So I quickly sliced up my sweet potato…

stirred them in some coconut oil and cinnamon…

And popped them in the oven. While they baked, I walked with Leslie. My roommate and good friend Ari introduced me to the Walk at Home video a few months ago and I love her. Leslie’s video is super easy to pop in for a light work out. Now if I am needing some heavy cardio, I need to hit the gym. But she is perfect for a good workout while I wait for my taters to cook.

Sweet Potato Fries

(adapted from Eating Bird Food’s Crispy Sweet Potato Fries)

1 Sweet Potato

1 Tbsp oil of choice

1 Tbsp cinnamon (I probably used 2-3 Tbsp. I really love cinnamon!)

Preheat the oven to 400* F. Slice up the potato into fry-sized bites. Try to cut the fries evenly for more even cooking. Layout the fries on a baking sheet and pop in the oven for 15-20 minutes. Then flip the fries over and bake for another 20 minutes (I like mine extra crispy so I kept them in for an extra five minutes). Enjoy!

When they came out, I paired them with an arugula and goat cheese salad drizzled with balsamic vinegar, and some of Tabtchnick’s barley and mushroom soup. This soup is filling and fantastic, and only 80 calories per serving! The salad was creamy and tangy and perfect between munches of my sweet potatoes. Dinner was delish!

And last but definitely not least, say hello to this lovely lady.

Meet my beautiful Grams… today is her birthday. HAPPY BIRTHDAY GRAMS!! Wish I were there with you 🙂

Well, I have finally finished the very first post. Whew 😉

Goodnight friends!

Entry filed under: Lunch, Me, Snacks. Tags: , , , , .

Everything Oatmeal

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. recimplicity  |  January 25, 2012 at 7:53 am

    What a delicious first post!! I am so happy we can be blog friends AND real life friends 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Charla  |  January 25, 2012 at 8:07 am

    I am very impressed with your choice of ingredients. I definitely know you didn’t get that open palate from your real mom! I can only hope your early baking lesson from Momma Fish started you on your journey…. Lots of luck in your next adventure… I may even steal a few recipes from you!!

    Reply
    • 3. momma d  |  January 30, 2012 at 9:13 am

      hold up momma fish….you KNOW i can open up a mean can of soup. Actually ….i thank God my kids had and have you in their lives….you are nthe REAL Deal!!

      Reply
  • 4. momma d  |  January 25, 2012 at 9:30 am

    hey beautiful baby girl…..LOVE you and your Blog. Can’t wait to read through your journey. I am SO proud 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

