Everything Oatmeal

January 25, 2012 at 10:11 pm Leave a comment

I had all intentions of waking up early this morning and hitting the gym. I had planned to do some cardio and weights before grabbing lunch.

Instead, I ended up snoozing for an extra thirty minutes. When I finally rolled out of bed I was starved. Good thing I mixed up a bowl of overnight oats last night!

My typical OO ingredients

In the my food world, oatmeal is the breakfast king. It is high in fiber and complex carbs (aka the good kind of carbs) that digest slowly to help us stay fuller, longer. When I first began making oatmeal I actually hated it because I always burned my stove top oats. I am a patient person, but no matter how long I stood staring at my pot and praying to the oatmeal gods for perfect oatmeal—it always ended up blackened and gloppy.

This is when I discovered the overnight oat phenomenon. Several other foodies make their oatmeal the very same way. It is simply soaking oats in any liquid you want, with any flavors you want, overnight. You can eat ’em cold or zap ’em in the microwave in the morning to knock the chill off. It is quick and easy, as long as you remember to prep the night before!

Overnight Oats

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 scoop protein powder
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • fruit, nuts or seeds of choice to stir-in!

Combine the oats, milk, water, protein, vanilla and cinnamon in bowl and stir well. You do not have to use protein powder if you don’t like it or don’t have any. But if you don’t use it, skip adding the water or cut down on your milk–it will be too soupy. Pop it in the fridge over night and in the morning it will be yummy oatmeal madness! Just before eating, feel free to stir in fruit, seeds–really, whatever you like!

This morning I ate mine with frozen blueberries and chia seeds. Chia is a superfood loaded with omega-3 fatty acids–it deserve an entire post to itself!

Eventually, I ended up at the gym. 30 minutes on the treadmill and then I was out to meet Erin for lunch. She is the best lunch buddy–you can check out her neat blog here.

For lunch I had this little wrap…

A Flat Out wrap, deli turkey, laughing cow light Swiss cheese, topped with arugula, Dijon mustard and a sprinkle of pepper. The creamy Swiss cheese spread makes this wrap–it works well with the nuttiness of the arugula. Lately, I have been on an arugula kick because I ran out of romaine (my usual go-to) earlier in the week. Looks like I’ll have to hit Harris Teeter soon!

Well peace out peeps–until tomorrow 🙂

Entry filed under: Breakfast. Tags: , , , , .

Welcome to the Nut Kase World Spaghetti…or something like it

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

