Party, Parks & Pancakes

January 30, 2012 at 12:49 am 3 comments

How is it Sunday night already? This weekend flew by–but started off with a bang.

Par-tay Friday night at Kyle's 🙂

I love going to UNC Chapel Hill. But I love love love heading to NC State on the weekend to hang out with some of the best people I know.

Some of the State gang: Danny, Kristie and Kyle!

And we all got to pose for Ari’s new camera…

Pretty Chels!

Ari with Ky and Ryan 🙂

Cheese! 😀

The rest of the weekend Kyle and I decided to take advantage of the warmer weather and visit some parks. Saturday we hit Lake Jordan for a good 3 mile hike, and Sunday we woke up early to visit Pullen Park.

We walked around for about an hour. I had hoped it would be like Lake Johnson and offer more of a path to walk or jog. Instead, the brand new Pullen Park was more of a park than a trail. Lots of swing sets and park benches. And a big pond in the middle, where we got to see this cute little guy taking a dip…

No ugly duckling here...he's a cutie 🙂

Then we came home to whip up some protein pancakes. We made a few adjustments to Tone It Up’s Protein Pancake because we were missing a few ingredients–so we winged it. And it turned out fantastic! One day I will invent my own lovely protein pancake recipe–but I am currently enjoying the TIU recipe!

Ingredient list...

mix and mash

We didn’t have flaxseed or blueberries, but they still turned out light and fluffy. Flipping them correctly took some work, though.

First flip

Once I got the hang of flipping, it was no big deal. My cakes were even looking like cute little shapes. This one is clearly a fish…

just keep swimming

And at first, this looked like a snapping turtle…

definitely the head of a turtle.

Then I flipped it. And the pancake decided to give me the middle finger…

haha 🙂

Finger or not, they were airy and scrumptious! Kyle had his with a drizzle of syrup and I ate mine with a blob of peanut butter.

His & hers protein pancake brunch–a great start to a busy week! 🙂 How is your week looking?

I’ll be back tomorrow with a healthy onion soup recipe! 🙂

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Friends, Weekend. Tags: , , .

Spaghetti…or something like it Soup Season

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ari  |  January 30, 2012 at 1:02 am

    Stop being so cute you two

    Reply
  • 2. momma d  |  January 30, 2012 at 9:10 am

    love the pics and recipe….you are ADORABLE!! have a great day and i love you to the moon and back 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. AlexisR  |  January 30, 2012 at 11:53 am

    love this!! ❤ and looking at those pancakes makes me hungrrry

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

