Brinner

February 1, 2012 at 8:57 pm Leave a comment

Inspired by my roommate Ari who always loves making breakfast foods for dinner, I decided to go the same route for a quick and simple meal tonight (because I have to practice for my interview!).

It began with a brainstorming session–I knew I had lots of spinach and egg whites in the fridge. On a college kid’s budget, every meal-brainstorming-session begins with a list of everything that needs to be used up or is about to go bad in the fridge :). I always hate throwing away a container of veggies that I picked at for a while, and then went to the back of the fridge to die a slow, moldy death (eww!)

At first, I dreamed of making some sort of spinach pancake. Then I decided that sounded gross–right?!  You weren’t actually going to go along with that, were you?!  So what is the next best thing for hungry girl in need of a fast brinner–scrambled eggs!

Spinach Scramble

  • 1 large handful of baby spinach
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup egg whites
  • 1/4 cup cheese of choice

This recipe is super simple–start to finish it took me about 5 minutes. Simply spray a frying pan with some cooking spray, add the spinach and cook over medium heat. You can add garlic powder and red pepper here, for a little flavorful kick. While the spinach wilts and cooks, whisk the egg and egg whites in a bowl. Add them to the pan with the spinach and use a spatula to scramble the eggs in the pan. It should probably take only a minute or two for the eggs to cook up. When they are done to your liking, plate the eggs and spinach and top with cheese. Give the cheese a second to melt before diggin’ in!

The spinach doesn’t need much time to cook. That is why it is perfect to just put on the stove and let wilt while you whisk up your eggs! I topped mine with goat cheese (my fav!) but feel free to use whatever is your fav–or whatever is about to go bad in your fridge :).

Don’t like spinach? Use any veggie you like! Don’t love eggs? You can still do brinner with this yummy recipe.

Ok–on to prepping for my interview. Wish me luck!

xoxo Kath

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Dinner. Tags: , , , , .

Apples to Apples Oats & an Interview

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

