Oats & an Interview

February 2, 2012 at 8:50 pm 1 comment

Whew–the interview is over! It went well (thank goodness) but I have found that you can never be too confident when it comes to interviewing with employers. Last semester I was an ambassador for UNC’s University Career Services and got to know the ins and outs of resumes, interviews and everything job-related. Here are some steps I like to do to make sure I am interview-ready 🙂

1. Dress to Impress

If you look nice then you feel nice–or at least that is the case for me. There is something about wearing high-heels (and in my case, super high-heels) that just makes a girl feel empowered. For guys–this may be wearing a nice button up or adding a skinny-tie to your suit to add some flare 🙂

I think the heels added 6 inches!

2. Know who is interviewing you

The typical “Tell me about yourself” is always the first question you will be asked (so have a good, personable pitch ready!) And it is almost always guaranteed that the interviewers will ask you what you know about their company. So brush up!

3. Sing it out

Now, don’t laugh! My nerves can get pretty amped up before an interview. So what helps me get the jitters out? Singing. Yes, I love to turn up the radio and belt out some tunes. It really works 😉

and last but not least…

4. Eat a really good breakfast (duh!)

This morning I made Fitnessista’s Breakfast Cookie Dough Cereal and topped it with a sprinkle of chia seeds and handful of frozen cherries. IT WAS AMAZING! And so easy to make. I love making overnight oats or simple breakfasts in the morning because the absolute last thing I want to be thinking about the morning before an interview is what to eat.

Quick and delish

Make sure you have your portfolio filled with a few extra resumes and a couple of questions for the interviewers (It always looks good to ask the interviewers questions after they are done interviewing you! It shows you were paying attention!) and you are good to go! 🙂

Well peeps, it is almost the weekend. YAY 🙂 I’ll be back with an extra special post about some people who are very special to me!

xoxo Kath

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Me. Tags: , , .

Brinner My Poppy’s Love

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. momma d  |  February 3, 2012 at 9:32 am

    looks yummy….have a great weekend, be safe and love you to the moon …and back!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

