My Poppy’s Love

February 3, 2012 at 10:00 am 3 comments

Earlier this week I posted about healthy applesauce and I want to elaborate on my inspiration for that recipe a little. Before I go on, let me give you a little background…my Mickey (technically, he is my step-dad–but if you ask me, he is my dad hands down ๐Ÿ™‚ ) is Nana and Poppy’s third child. When Mickey and my mom got married a few years ago, I inherited a whole new family! Suddenly I had 9 new cousins, 6 new aunts and uncles and Nana and Poppy.

Nana and Poppy, Kip, Mickey, Sharon and Jackie

Annual White/Block family beach trip!

During my high school summers, Nana and Poppy would invite the whole family over for a Sunday barbeque. And that is a lot of people! It is here that I found my love for just-plain-good homemade food.

Like a good southern man, my Poppy loved his barbeque. Real, vinegar-based pork barbeque. And as a family, we cooked it together, smoked it together, and ate it together. But more than loving to cook barbeque, I believe he loved the way it brought his family together. My Uncle Kip, Mickey and Poppy would help prepare the barbeque, and my Nana would always make homemade crescent rolls, whipped potatoes and K-cookies (a gooey bar that looked like a peanut butter rice-crispy covered in chocolate and butterscotch, except it used Special K cereal instead of rice crispies!). So many treats!

These Sunday family dinners are where Nana taught me how to make her vanilla pound cake and cinnamon bread. But my favorite dish Nana makes is applesauce. It is smooth, delicious and sweet. It is so simple and yet still had that crisp, refreshing taste you can only get from an apple. That is what I was thinking of this week when I decided to make some applesauce–my big, beautiful family, and my Nana & Poppy.

His favorite spot on the beach ๐Ÿ™‚

In October 2010, my Poppy passed away and it was a huge blow to our family. But every time we get together, I have this funny little feeling he is watching over us. My Poppy had a big heart–he loved Nana and he loved bringing his family together (even if he did slide in the occasional witty remark–he was a real jokester ๐Ÿ™‚ ). This is the man who taught me food is not about eating–it is about the people you are eating it with.

So every now and then I think of him, watching over my family and me–and I can’t help but smile.

What inspires you in the kitchen?

Entry filed under: Family, Me. Tags: , , .

Oats & an Interview Super Bowl Supper

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sharon  |  February 3, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    That makes me smile and cry at the same time. I have such wonderful memories of Poppy. I am so blessed to have such a loving family and I hope to pass some special memories to my children. We are so blessed to have you and your family as our family. I love you and hope to see you soon.
    Aunt Sharon

    Reply
  • 2. chastin harrison  |  February 3, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    Kathleen, you know just how to melt my heart. Reading this just like mom said made me laugh and cry all at the same time. I miss Poppy so much actually more and more with everyday.. You are so special to me and I love u so much. So nice to read this

    Reply
    • 3. kacline  |  February 4, 2012 at 3:17 pm

      Love you guys ๐Ÿ™‚ I am so glad you liked it, it took me so long to write because I wanted everyone to know just how great our Poppy was. xoxox

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

