Super Bowl Supper

February 6, 2012 at 10:00 am Leave a comment

This weekend Kyle and I ate good food with good friends. We ate at the Carolina Brewery with the crew on Saturday night. I have to admit, it is tough dining out and eating well. Salads are always an option, but a girl can only eat salads so many times a week. So I ate the Brewery’s pan seared salmon with a sweet potato mash–it was delish! Then we hit Sweet Frog for some frozen yogurt…both Friday and Saturday…I will be doing some extra cardio this week to make up for that–but it was SO worth it 🙂

This weekend we also saw the movie Chronicle. Everyone liked it…except me. I was enjoying the sci-fi movie and the superpowers these kids got until the main character decided to rip apart a spider with his powers. Even if it is a little bug–I hate watching little critters (big, small, cute or ugly) getting hurt. Sunday Kyle and I spent the afternoon watching Tangled to make up for it. Tangled was much better–hands down 🙂

Super Bowl Sunday

To be honest, I don’t know a lot about football. The closest I have gotten to playing football is playing Carolina ball (a mix between ultimate frisbee and football) that we play on the beach each summer taught by these two goofs…

My Uncle Kip and Mickey---picking on my poor Aunt Sharon 🙂

Haha 🙂 So needless to say I didn’t know who to root for. I slightly favored the Giants because my good friend Alexis is a Giants girl. But mostly I watched the game for the commercials. As an advertising major, it is always great to see how good, bad and corny the ads can be. This one was my fav 🙂

For dinner, Kyle and I tested out some baked chicken fingers, coated in coconut flakes and panko crumbs–think coconut shrimp, but for chicken! For our veggie Kyle sauteed green beans.

Baked Coconut & Panko Chicken Fingers

(Inspired by Rachel Ray’s Coconut Chicken Cutlets)

  • 1 lb. chicken tenders (you can use chicken breasts, too–just cut into strips)
  • 1/3 cup egg whites
  • 2 Tbsp. dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1 cup unsweetened coconut flakes, chopped
  • 1 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 1 Tbsp. Extra virgin olive oil

Preheat the oven for 400*F. Whisk the egg whites, mustard, garlic powder, cayenne, salt and pepper in a large bowl. Add the chicken tenders and let tenders hang out in the mixture in the fridge for 20-30 minutes.

While the chicken marinates, heat the EVOO in a pan and toast the coconut and panko crumbs in the pan until everything is golden brown. Pull the chicken out of the fridge and roll the tenders in the coconut-panko mixture.

Bake in the oven for 10 minutes and then flip the tenders. When we flipped the tenders, I covered them again with more of the coconut and panko mixture.  Bake for another 10 minutes. They will be golden, crispy and delicious when they come out!

coconuty!

Kyle’s Sauteed Green Beans

  • 2 cups frozen green beans
  • 1 Tbsp. Extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder

Heat the oil in a frying pan. Add the beans, garlic and garlic powder in the pan and saute until the green beans are hot, but still crunchy and the garlic is just browned. Enjoy!

crunchy green beans 🙂

By the time we sat down to eat we were just in time for the half-time show. Madonna was pretty good!

What did you snack on during your Super Bowl party?!

Have a good Monday!

xoxo Kath ❤

Entry filed under: Dinner. Tags: , , , , , .

My Poppy’s Love 2 Cup Slip Up

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

