Chocolate Crazed

February 15, 2012 at 3:39 pm 2 comments

I am not going to blame my chocolate addiction on Valentine’s day.

I could eat chocolate all day every day a few times a week and be a happy camper. But the trick is to incorporate it into your diet in a healthy way. Thus, I started off my day with a big, steamy mug of Cherry Chocolate Tea that Kyle’s mom got me for V-day. Thanks, Mrs. A! 🙂

The tea tastes just like cherry cordials–sweet, smooth and chocolatey. A bit of perfection! After draining my mug of tea, I headed into the kitchen to experiment with even more chocolate. But this time, the chocolate came in the form of a raw macaroon.

what went into my big green bowl

Raw Chocolate Macaroons

  • 2 cups unsweetened, shredded coconut
  • 1 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup organic maple syrup (it’s on sale at Earth Fare!)
  • 1 tbsp. coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. sea salt

Combine the dry ingredients in a medium mixing bowl and give it a quick stir. Add the syrup and coconut oil and stir until the mixture is gooey.

It should look like this…

Next, set out a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil and use 2 spoons to scoop out  and form small, round macaroons balls. If you have an ice cream scooper, that would work well, too.

It will make about 17-20 macaroon balls. Fridge or freeze the macaroons to get them nice and cold and a little firmer.

**Note: I consider these raw, however maple syrup is “technically” not raw. So if you really want to be a raw foodie, you can sub honey.

Enjoy!

xoxo

Chocoholic Kath

Entry filed under: Dessert, Raw. Tags: , , , .

Be Mine He Sings to Me

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. momma d  |  February 15, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    gonna make this tonight….sounds yummyyyyy!!!!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. recimplicity  |  February 15, 2012 at 6:42 pm

    MMM… I am super looking forward to my lunch treat tomorrow! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

