Morning Prep

February 17, 2012 at 1:30 pm Leave a comment

TGIF!

I am so happy the weekend is finally here. In fact, I was so excited for today that I could not sleep.  I woke up early to gobble up a bowl of overnight oats topped with cacao nibs for a chocolatey crunch.

continuing the chocolate theme this week

And then went straight to the gym. Now the elliptical and I have a love-hate relationship. I hate it slightly less than the treadmill and it loves to kick my butt in all sorts of ways. But the main reason I have loved the elliptical (and the gym in general) this week is because it gives me a solid hour of listening to “Catching Fire”…the second book in the Hunger Game series that I am currently absorbed in.

Kyle has gotten me hooked into the Hunger Games series–and even better, he has gotten me started on audiobooks. I didn’t know how my book-worm-heart would like listening to stories as opposed to reading them (because I love the way books smell? Is that weird? 🙂 )  It took me a while to get used to listening, but I finished the first in a little under a week and I am ADDICTED.

I came home to rock out my hundred push up, two hundred sit up and two hundred squat challenge. Now, I did not do 100 push ups, 200 squats and sits ups. But that is what this program helps me work up to. The programs are structured and give you 5 specific sets of reps per day for 3 days out of the week and there are 6 weeks in the program. I began my training this week right after I completed the initial tests to see how many push ups, squats and sit ups I could do (turns out–I am way better at sit ups and squats than push ups!). But here is what today’s reps looked like:

  • Push ups: 6, 8, 6, 6, max out (total: 33)
  • Sit ups: 30, 38, 23, 23, max out (total: 152)
  • Squats: 27, 34, 21, 21, max out (total: 137)

Between each set you rest for 60-90 seconds. I really like the way this program works and I am excited to see some results and build up to those goals! After collapsing into a sweaty heap, I slowly made my way into the kitchen to refuel with this little delight:

looks are deceiving...this green smoothie is delish 🙂

Post-Workout Green Machine

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 cup spinach (I used frozen, but you can sub fresh)
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1/2 cup mango
  • milk of choice or water to get everything moving (I used about 1 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk)

Pile into a blender or magic bullet and blend until everything is a nice shade of green. DON’T PANIC—it will not taste like a cup of vegetables. You wouldn’t know there was spinach in it if you couldn’t see the green-awesomeness. Feel free to switch out other fruits–I really like using blackberries and dark cherries, too! But the longer it sits, the green it gets 🙂 Enjoy!

So I can check exercising my butt off, off my to do list for the day. I am the queen of sticky notes–my desk is always covered in a rainbow of the little papers. And exercising was number one on the list today because tonight is me and Kyle’s Valentine’s day DATE NIGHT! And I plan to consume an exorbitant amount of chocolate!

this is actually not a lot of sticky notes--my desk is used to much more. and they are organized in a way only a nut could understand.

Time to finish up some homework, slap a coat of paint on my nails and get my swag on (haha–thanks EROT & Kahlil for the swag how-to last night) 🙂

xoxox

-kath

Entry filed under: Books, Breakfast, Me, Snacks. Tags: , , , , , .

He Sings to Me Date Night

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

