Fire Alarm Fiasco

February 20, 2012 at 10:30 am 2 comments

Every one loves chili on a really cold, wet day. But do you know what makes chili on a cold, wet day even more interesting? Getting a visit from these fine men…

Meet firefighters Jamie and Jason

after I almost burnt my apartment down. Well, almost…

the culprit

Alarmed

Kyle was cooking up the chicken for the chili and I was in charge of sauteing the onions, jalapenos and garlic. Who knew throwing some frozen onions into hot olive oil would create a bunch of angry onions that sizzle and smoke (well, looking back now, I guess I should have known..). But hey, what is experimenting in the kitchen for, if you can’t have a little sizzle every once in a while?! 🙂

The onions hissed and spurted up hot oil in a frenzy for a minute. I thought we were in the clear until the shriek of the fire alarm began to blare. I just starred dumb-founded at the onions for a few moments—and then realized that I was that person that the whole building was going to hate for making them evacuate the building on a rainy, cold day. Yikes. Kyle and Ari began fanning the alarm in hopes to turn it off and gave me a “what the heck are you waiting for–do something!” look, so I ran to open up the windows. Rest assured, we don’t have any pansy fire alarms here at UNC—we could not have turned off that alarm if we whacked it with a hammer (which I considered).

So I left my angry onions on the stove until the firemen pulled up and rescued my chili. Lucky for me, only our kitchen’s fire alarm went off—the whole building didn’t have to evacuate (whew!).

After Jamie and Jason quickly peaked in our apartment and laughed at me and my chili story,  they turned off the fire alarm. Kyle and I finished putting together the rest of the chili, dumped it into a crock pot and decided to go to the outlet malls to kill some time.

But did my fire alarm chili decide to quit being a pain-in-my-butt there? No.

the full pot

sneaky puddle

We came back to an over-flowed pot. Good grief!

But nonetheless, the chili turned out spicy and filling—everything a chili should be.

[Fire Alarm] White Chili

  • 1 lbs. ground chicken, cooked
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1.5 cups chopped onion (not frozen! 🙂 )
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 2 jalapenos, minced
  • 8 oz. chopped green chiles
  • 2 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. Cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 4 cups low sodium chicken broth
  • 2 190z. cans of Cannellini beans

In a crockpot, combine the cooked chicken, chiles, cumin, oregano, pepper, salt, broth and beans. In a pan over medium-high heat, saute onions, garlic and jalapenos in the olive oil until the onions and peppers look tender (about 2-3 minutes). Add the onions, garlic and peppers to the crockpot. Set the crockpot to the temperature setting that best suits your time. We put it on high because we only had a few hours until dinner. But the longer it sits and simmers, the better it gets!

Kyle whipped up some corn muffins to go along with the chili. But don’t worry, there were no fire alarms or catastrophes in that endeavor. Kyle must have a way with corn muffins 🙂

Well what a start to my week. And to top it off, it snowed! Woo hoo!

What has been your craziest moment in the kitchen?

Merry Monday!

xoxox Kath

Entry filed under: Dinner, Flops. Tags: , , , .

Date Night The Last Bowl

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. momma d  |  February 20, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    ooooo….sweet baby – you are my child!! that is the funniest story – i was giggling so hard dennis had to make sure i was ok.

    Reply
  • 2. recimplicity  |  February 20, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    Ahhh haha. This is amazing 🙂

    I don’t know if I have experienced any epic kitchen moments…except for like every time I try to improvise a recipe and it tastes gross.

    But that happens like every week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

