The Last Bowl

February 21, 2012 at 10:00 am 1 comment

Good morning to you!

This morning I ate my last bowl of oatmeal.

Well it is my last bowl for a while, anyways. Tomorrow marks the beginning of Lent, and this year I have decided to give up oats and pray more.  Lent is not just about giving something up that you enjoy, nor is it about piling on more things to do. It is a season where Christians can reflect and do a bit of soul searching in order to grow in their faith. (You can learn more about the season of Lent here)

After seeing some snow on the ground last night, my heart immediately yearned for hot chocolate. So I whipped up UBER-chocolatey, hot cocoa-inspired treat for my last bowl of oats.

Hot Chocolate Overnight Oats

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1 heaping Tbsp. unsweetened cocoa
  • I scoop chocolate protein powder (if you don’t have any, add some more cocoa)
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
  • 1/4 cup water
  • sweetener to taste (I didn’t use any because my protein powder made it sweet enough. But if you only use cocoa, you’ll need some sweetening!)

Combine all the ingredients in a bowl and let the mixture sit in the fridge overnight. You can eat them cold, but to heat up just pop them in the microwave for a minute, give it a quick stir and nuke it again for 30 seconds. Top with yummy things like chocolate chips, almonds, or my fav–frozen bananas!

Nighttime prep

Morning deliciousness

Ok, well I am off to clean out my gym bag. On the way to the gym this morning, my water bottle decided to spill and send my keys and ipod swimming in a puddle of water. And the fiascos continue 🙂

Peace out!

xoxox,

K

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Faith. Tags: , , , , .

Fire Alarm Fiasco Butter n’ Blooms

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. recimplicity  |  February 21, 2012 at 10:32 am

    That is so great that you are giving up oatmeal!! I think I am going to have to give up cocoa powder (and everything else chocolately)…which makes me a little sad :/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

