Clean, Lean and Green

February 24, 2012 at 9:30 am 1 comment

…a good motto, right? But so tough to stick to. Since beginning my final spring semester at UNC  I have tried to make this my mantra. I have snacked on some sweets here and there–‘cuz a girl has to indulge her sweet tooth! But overall it has worked really well. My spring break cruise to the Bahamas is in a little over a week and I have managed to shed 8 pounds (every time I say that my mind does a little happy dance 🙂 ).

grapefruits really don't get enough credit---they are SO good

So to do a final prep for the week leading up to the cruise, I am going into full CLEAN, LEAN & GREEN mode. Nothing but veggies, some fruit, lean protein and all natural foods up in here. So I started off the morning with egg whites and then hit the gym for some power yoga. On my way to class I gobbled up half a grapefruit. Then munched on this colorful combo for lunch.

A spinach salad topped with almonds, dried cranberries and balsamic vinegar, with carrots, zucchini and hummus to dip.

To eat clean is simply to eat very little processed foods and to fill your diet with vegetables, fruits, lean proteins, complex carbs and healthy fats. My rule of thumb is if you don’t get it from the produce section of the grocery store and if you can’t pronounce a few ingredients on the label, it’s probably not clean. For Christmas, Santa got me the Eat Clean Diet book by Tosca Reno and it has done wonders to help me craft a healthy lifestyle.

Some of the clean eating staples in my pantry/fridge:

  • Unsweetened almond milk
  • Fresh salsa
  • Egg whites
  • Organic, hormone-free chicken breasts–you can get these individually frozen in little packs, so all you have to do is defrost in the pack, cut the pack open and pop in the oven to bake. You don’t even have to touch the raw chicken (which is great because I hate raw chicken…and germs… )
  • Lentils
  • Hummus
  • Spinach, kale, romaine
  • Natural, organic almond and peanut butter
  • Unsweetened cocoa powder–great with some stevia and almond milk for hot cocoa when you need a chocolate fix
  • Stevia
  • Cinnamon, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, Mrs. Dash (salt-free) seasonings
  • Mustard, vinegar, extra virgin olive oil, reduced-sodium soy sauce or Tamari
  • Plain, non-fat Greek yogurt
  • Fruits (currently loving grapefruit and apples)
  • Plenty of vegetables…duh!

Now, what can you do with these ingredients?

Exhibit A:

Break out your foil and get ready to fold!

Fast Foil Pack Chicken and Vegetables

  • 1 chicken breast
  • Approximately two cups of veggies–I used fresh carrots and zucchini, and frozen broccoli and onions
  • 2 Tbsp. low sodium Tamari or soy sauce
  • 2 shakes of cayenne pepper
  • 2 shakes of garlic powder
  • A large sheet of foil

Preheat the oven to 375* F. Fold the foil in half and pile the chicken and veggies onto one side of the foil. Fold up the edges a little bit, just enough so when you add the soy sauce it will not leak out, then add the soy sauce and seasonings.

You could do the foil pack with any seasonings you like--I bet lemon juice and an Italian blend would be yummy!

Next, fold the other half of the sheet over the chicken and veggies. Roll the edges together to create a sealed, air-tight pack.

Place on a baking sheet and cook for 40-45 minutes. When its done, you’ll have a steamy chicken breast and vegetables infused soy sauce, garlic and pepper!

So many veggies--where is the chicken?!

Found it.

A simple and clean-eating option for dinner that tastes like Chinese take out. Yum-O!

TGIF & happy weekend 🙂

xox

Kath

Entry filed under: Clean Eating. Tags: , , , .

A Night with Crook’s Between a rock…and another rock

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. momma d  |  February 24, 2012 at 10:09 am

    congrats on you and healthy living – you amaze me every day. I love you baby girl !!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

