Between a rock…and another rock

February 27, 2012 at 10:00 am 6 comments

This weekend started off with dinner at Southern Rail with the gang. It’s a neat little restaurant, right next to Crook’s actually, that is made out of an old railway car. They have a small menu, but offer interesting takes on salads and sandwiches.

I treated myself to half an Italian grilled cheese of sorts–with a plump portobello mushroom, fresh spinach, pesto and mozzarella, with a side salad. Kyle enjoyed his Mahi Mahi tacos. One of the best parts about Kyle is that he’s always willing to share with me πŸ™‚ I traded him a taco for half my sandwich–it was like second dinner!

While at dinner Ryan and Alexis told us about Vertical Edge, a rock climbing place in Durham. So Saturday we decided to do a double date–rock climbing style.

Normally Kyle and I will go jogging Saturday mornings and because it is so close to Spring Break, I wanted to make sure I was going to get a good workout in. At first I thought rock climbing would be a breeze. Boy was I wrong.

I wasn’t even a foot off the ground when I began sweating ! There were about four parts of the course we could climb on and each increased with difficulty. Kyle, Alexis and Ryan went straight for the “medium” course. Where did I go? The very easy, very “beginner” climb, first. I had to wait for a little 4-year-old boy to finish climbing before I got my turn. πŸ™‚ But after I breezed through that, I was ready to take on the rest of the walls.

Here are some pics from the day:

Ryan hooking up Alexis for her first climb!

My monkey man with his beloved Chucks—look at how long those legs are!

Alexis’s wild man. At one point Ryan said, “I think I am going to climb this without using my legs!”

Get it girl!

My first climb–right after the 4-year-old got off πŸ™‚

But eventually I got better and even got up on the hardest wall!

I think the neatest part of the rock climbing place was their version of a treadmill…

It was a large rotating wall that took us a VERY long time to get the hang of. I won’t say I got the hang of it, but I gave it my best shot and have a pretty purple bruise on my knee to show for it πŸ™‚

Have you ever rock climbed before?!

I’ll be back tomorrow with to start a SPRING BREAK COUNTDOWN!

xoxox,

Kath

Entry filed under: Weekend. Tags: , .

Clean, Lean and Green Old Faithful

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ari  |  February 27, 2012 at 10:47 am

    Whew! Look at those calf muscles girlfriend!

    Reply
    • 2. kacline  |  February 27, 2012 at 3:45 pm

      haha πŸ™‚ thanks love. want to do some Leslie tonight?

      Reply
  • 3. recimplicity  |  February 27, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    I am glad you guys had fun πŸ™‚ My dad and I used to go rock climbing semi-frequently in middle school. Perry is too heavy for auto-belay, so he will have to wait a couple years lol

    Also, I second Ari’s calf muscle comment

    Reply
    • 4. kacline  |  February 27, 2012 at 3:45 pm

      thanks πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 5. Alexis Rabin  |  February 28, 2012 at 1:32 am

    i love all of my buttox shots btw πŸ™‚

    best time everrr!!

    Reply
    • 6. kacline  |  February 28, 2012 at 7:38 am

      all I had were buttocks shots…and you looks so good πŸ˜‰

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

