Old Faithful

February 28, 2012 at 10:00 am 2 comments

In five days I’ll be sailing to the Bahamas! I am so excited for my first cruise. So this week is going to be all about clean eating and  getting in those last few workouts to trim it up to the max.

Yesterday, I thought I would attempt to make an egg white muffin, seeing as how all I eat in the mornings now a days are egg whites (because I gave up my beloved oats for lent!).

Looks kinda good, right? Well, looks can be deceiving.  I piled in lots of frozen veggies, added a dash of spices to half and some salsa to the other half–and when they came out they were pretty watery. I’m guessing the frozen vegetables and liquid from the salsa are to blame.

I’ll have to do some perfecting of this recipe and get back to you. But at least I’ll have some salsa on hand for veggie dipping this week!

Good Ole’ Faithful

I tested out the muffins while I cooked up a mahi mahi filet and green beans for dinner. I am loving the individually frozen mahi that I can take out of the fridge, defrost in a sec under some warm water and have cooked with a little lemon juice in just about 7 minutes. Quick, easy and delish.

After the muffin mishap, I turned to an old recipe I knew would not fail me: cinnamon yogurt. It’s something I concocted last year, way back when I just began experimenting with Greek yogurt. It is a perfect late night, sweet-tooth snack that won’t ruin your whole day of healthy eating.

Cinnamon Swirl Greek Yogurt

  • 1/2 cup Non-fat Plain Greek Yogurt
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp. of cinnamon, depending on how much you like
  • Sweetener to taste…I used Stevia but feel free to use agave, maple syrup or honey

Ready for the directions? Combine all in a bowl and enjoy 🙂

The best part about Greek yogurt? It is FILLED with protein (approx. 15-20g of protein, which equals 2-3oz. of lean meat)! Not only does Greek yogurt have loads of protein, but, like many dairy products, it contains Casein. Casein is a milk protein that takes a while to digest–thus, you feel fuller, longer.

I followed the yogurt with a mug of vanilla chamomile tea. It made for the perfect study buddy.

Well I’m off to finish this paper. I had to skip my late night run because I think I am coming down with a cold. AH! Not before the cruise! Does anyone have any good cold remedies/cures they’d like to share? I have stocked up on Sudafed and Delsym!

xoxox,

Kath

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Flops. Tags: , , , , .

Between a rock…and another rock Pan(pillow)cake

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maddie  |  February 28, 2012 at 11:30 am

    Kathleen! It’s Maddie, from AK! Awesome blog 🙂

    My aunt makes this awesome cure-all tea using fresh ginger, chili flakes, lemon and honey. It clears anything up and I make it whenever I’m feeling a little sick!

    Reply
    • 2. kacline  |  February 28, 2012 at 12:04 pm

      Ah Maddie–thanks so much for your help 🙂 I am going to try this as soon as I get home after class. And thanks for checking out the blog!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

