Rock the Boat, Baby (part uno)

March 12, 2012 at 9:41 am Leave a comment

My spring break was a crazy little cruisin’ adventure.

After leaving a few hours late because one of the ship’s generators was broken, the Carnival Destiny set sail…into some very rough waters.

One minute it’s sunny, the next it’s dark, cloudy and rainy. The waves were huge and I am so glad I brought Dramamine for sea sickness. I did get sick one night when the waters were really rough and all I could think about was Ursula.

The waters were so rough in fact, that the captain had to skip the first two islands we were supposed to go to. So I only saw Grand Turk and Half Moon Cay from a distance. The wind and rain made docking too dangerous, so instead Captain Giuseppe (what a great captain name!) took us to Nassau for an extra day. While we sailed for 4 days, the group did some major bonding.

We sun bathed (we were so happy when the sun decided to peak out from behind the rain clouds!)

we either slept or read a book outside. Of course, I was listening to the Hunger Games--I'm on the third book, MockingJay, now!

It's always fun to be on a boat with a hunk πŸ™‚

watched the waves

such a pretty pic Ari took!

drank fun drinks

I was so excited about my coconut I don't think I put it down all day!

some of us sang karaoke…

Ari braved the stage first: Hot N' Cold by Katy Perry

By far my favorite pic of the night: Dennis rockin' out some Journey

Ky and I played in the Game of Love–he had to smooch me on stage!

I was SO nervous--look at that face!

We got all fancied up for dinner. You could order whatever you wanted and as much as you wanted. Most of us ordered two appetizers, two entrees and a few desserts. Nothing like feeding a bunch of poor college kids πŸ™‚

I loved their pretty fruit appetizers--but I loved the warm chocolate melting cake more

we found cute towel animals in our rooms and I seriously considered trying to take them back home with me

an elephant

frogger

and a monkey, oh my!

we goofed off in our rooms after dinner (and made some more drinks…it was Spring Break, after all… πŸ˜‰ )

my fav bartender

boo

And finally, on Thursday afternoon, after waiting four days captain Giuseppe got on the intercom to announce…

waiting in line one the first floor to get off...

we made it to the Bahamas!

to be continued… πŸ™‚

Entry filed under: Friends, Me. Tags: , , .

Away we go! Happy Birthday, Default

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

