Switching it Up

March 19, 2012 at 10:00 am 6 comments

Easter is just around the corner…and you know what that means?

PEEPS!

Easter candy is a huge weakness of mine. Who wouldn’t love creme filled eggs, chocolate bunnies and marshmallow peeps? It is sugar-madness!

If I am going to be stuffing my face surrounded by Easter candy for the next month or so, I need to mix up my gym routine from the ‘ole treadmill and elliptical combo.

For all you HP fans out there…I bet this would be a fun alternative workout you’d enjoy!

Anything that can get me out of the gym and watching a movie is my kinda workout. It’s all about the right kind of motivation ๐Ÿ˜‰

For me, it’s always tough to reach out ofย  my comfort zone and try something a bit more challenging–but it is always SO worth it. So this week is all about exercising a little differently. It’s time to lace up my sneaks and get running….

These bad boys are going to be doing a lot more jogging starting on Wednesday. At the beginning of the semester I could not run for the life of me. For some reason I could not get my breathing under control and I had to stop after about 2 minutes of light jogging. But I have been practicing on the treadmill every week, slowly building up stamina. And last week I joined a program called Commit 5K that takes beginning runners and turns them into 5K champs (AHH! 3 miles?! Holy cow).

So my exercises this week will include jogs, running hills and simply just seeing how long I can run for until I get too tired. As of this past Friday, I maxed out at about one mile.

I aim to start slow and build up my strength. I really want to get the hang of running up and down hills, too, and the weather lately has been perfect for exercising outdoors. So I hope to include outside jogging at least 2 times this week. We’ll see how it goes ๐Ÿ™‚

Are you a runner? Do you have any tips for a beginning runner?

xoxox,

Kath

Entry filed under: Exercise, Holidays, Running. Tags: , , , .

Bahama Me (Cruise part 2) Broccoli’s White Cousin

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeyna Grace  |  March 19, 2012 at 10:23 am

    Is that a bunny?

    Reply
    • 2. kacline  |  March 19, 2012 at 1:01 pm

      Its a chick—but the bunny peeps are delish, too ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Reply
  • 3. Mikey  |  March 19, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    You can do it Kathy!

    Reply
    • 4. kacline  |  March 19, 2012 at 1:01 pm

      Mikey ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for reading the blog—I miss seeing you! Hope life after Deep Springs is going well!

      Reply
  • 5. chelseabreana  |  March 20, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    AHHHHHHHHH! This blog was just for me wasn’t it? I’m totally doing this next time I watch a HP movie (tonight), in fact I might start doing it while I listen to my audiobooks (tonight). You know the secrets to my heart ….

    Reply
    • 6. kacline  |  March 20, 2012 at 2:30 pm

      I am glad you like it ๐Ÿ˜€ I thought of you when I posted it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

