Broccoli’s White Cousin

March 20, 2012 at 10:00 am Leave a comment

I picked up a big head of cauliflower at the grocery store this weekend.

I’ve never really cooked with cauliflower before. I got it just because it looked pretty in the produce aisle. Also because I figured it has to be a cousin of broccoli. And I love broccoli!

So what does a college kid do with only 30 minutes for dinner prep and a big white veggie?

Turn up the oven–it’s roastin’ time 🙂

Crispy Roasted Cauliflower

  • 1/2 a head of fresh cauliflower, cut into chunks or florets
  • 1-2 Tbsp. EVOO
  • Sea salt and pepper to taste

Crank up your oven to 450*F. Lay out cauliflower on a baking sheet. Drizzle the EVOO over the cauliflower and give them a quick mush/roll/turn with your hand to coat. Sprinkle with sea salt and pepper and pop in the oven for 30 minutes.Leave in longer with you want them crispier. You could even put them under the broiler to top them off after they bake for extra crispy cauliflower.

Seriously...it could not be simpler.

Crispy golden goodness

Note: these are addictive. Hence the reason I gobbled up about 1/4 of my cauliflower before I took the above photo 😉

The browner, the better! Roasting the cauliflower brings out a nutty flavor and crunchy texture that I have fallen in love with.

In the time it took to roast these golden goodies, I pan-seared cod and steamed green beans (aka put my beans in a bowl, added some water and microwaved) and had a lovely meal in under 30 minutes.

Rachel Ray would be proud 🙂

What’s your go-to quick meal?

News on the jogging front: The rain spoiled my outdoor plans, but I managed to do some walking/jogging circuits on the treadmill. Hopefully I’ll have better luck some other time this week!

xoxox,

Kath

Entry filed under: Clean Eating, Dinner. Tags: , , .

Switching it Up Bye Bye Bullet

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

