Bye Bye Bullet

March 21, 2012 at 10:51 am 1 comment

Yesterday my magic bullet went to magic bullet heaven.

…right before I was going to blend up one of my favorite smoothies 😦

For a few weeks now I have been so busy that normally my lunch consists of a protein smoothie and a handful of nuts or a salad. So like any other day, I began to mix up a smoothie with banana, strawberries and pineapple–doesn’t that sound delish?

To the fruit, I added some spinach, vanilla whey and almond milk

I popped the little container on the bullet…and nothing happened. I thought it may be the outlet, or maybe our power was out. But the kitchen lights were on, and the other appliances were working…so that could not be the case.

I ended up having to transfer my smoothie to this big fella’.

And while the blender was whizzing away, I also managed to spill lots of almond milk on the floor. I thought I had put the lid back on…so when I went to shake it up to add more milk to my smoothie while it was blending, the milk went flying!

No use crying over spilt almond milk

Even though my kitchen felt like a catastrophe, I did finally get my smoothie. However, the blender did not blend very well–and I ended up picking spinach out of my teeth. Yuck.

Ever read this children’s book?

Between my bullet mysteriously dying, my crazy kitchen mess and school stress, that’s exactly how I felt my day was going.

But, I have wonderful friends and the greatest roommate in the world–who quickly helped me realize bad and stressful days do pass.

Ari's a fabulous counselor, but an even better best friend πŸ™‚

I am going to try to have my handy man (aka Kyle) take a look at my magic bullet before I really throw it away send it to magic bullet heaven. If he can’t fix it, I guess I’ll have to pick up a new one. I’ll consider it a birthday present to myself–I’ll be 22 on Sunday!

Well I am off to do some yoga. Later today I begin my Commit 5k training program to run a 5k and I am so excited to get started! I’ll let you know how that goes tomorrow πŸ™‚

xoxo,

Kath

Oh, and just in case you do have a working Bullet or blender–try this smoothie recipe!

Pineapple Delight Protein Smoothie

  • 1/3 c. Pineapple (frozen, fresh, or puree)
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 4 frozen strawberries
  • 1/3 cup frozen spinach
  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1/2 – 1 cup of milk of choice

Blend and enjoy. You can omit spinach if you like, but you cannot taste it and it is a great way to get in your veggies. Just make sure you blend it up WELL or else you’ll look like a giant sea monster and will be picking it out of your teeth (like me πŸ˜‰ ).

Entry filed under: Friends, Lunch, Me, Snacks, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Broccoli’s White Cousin Superstar!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. momma d  |  March 21, 2012 at 11:04 am

    you are too funny…sounds like the birthday fairy needs to bring you a mag.bullet πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

