Superstar!

March 22, 2012 at 10:00 am 2 comments

Yesterday’s adventures in the kitchen were much less chaotic than earlier this week.  Thank goodness!

For dinner I fueled up with a new-to-me product called Shirataki, a pack of noodles you can find in the tofu section of your grocer.

My Papa–aka Mickey–recommended them to me because he really likes them as a low-cal option for his diet.  They are made out of tofu and bean fiber. Just look how it stacks up on the nutrition scale…

While he loves them, he also told me they smell…like butt.

He was 100% right.

So I rinsed my noodles thoroughly with warm water before dousing them with some spaghetti sauce (just like this one, minus the eggplant) and a good sprinkle of Parmesan cheese.

The great part about the Shirataki noodles is that I did not even have to cook them. Rinsing them under the hot water (for about 3-4 min.) did the trick to heat them up. And although they smelled weird when you open the package, rinsing solves that and they taste like nothing–the noodles absorb whatever flavors your layer on them.

20 calorie, no-cook, rinse-so-they-don’t-stink noodles are good in my book 🙂

Commit 5k–Superstar!

Yesterday I began my training with Commit 5k–a running program that helps beginning runners complete a 5k (about 3.1 miles).

I was very excited, but also anxious to begin because I did not know what to expect. I was so anxious to get to practice that I actually forgot to put on deodorant 😦 Needless to say I told myself to run faster so I could keep my smelly distance from the other runners.

And even though I was excited and stinky,  for some reason, my mind kept chanting “Superstar!” in my head.

Anyone ever seen that funny movie?

Our practice consisted of a walk/run test. Basically, we had to see how far we could get in 12 minutes. With “Superstar!” echoing in my head, I ran roughly 1.4 miles in 12 minutes–that’s my best time since I began running back in January!

Maybe Superstar is my trick to running?! Or maybe its my motivation to run ahead of the other runners, for fear that my pits smell as bad as the Shirataki noodles?! 😉 Who knows–we’ll see what works next week!

xoxox,

Kath

Entry filed under: Dinner, Exercise, Flops, Running. Tags: , , , .

Bye Bye Bullet The Bright Side

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jjs467  |  April 27, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    Oh, Kath! You are too funny.

    Reply
    • 2. Kath  |  April 27, 2012 at 2:24 pm

      Ha, thanks 🙂 I hope you enjoy the blog!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

