Quinoa Crazy

March 28, 2012 at 11:22 am 7 comments

Breakfast just hasn’t been the same without oatmeal…

Lent is almost over--and lots of praying have commenced to get me through my oatmeal addiction 😉

So after a lot of brainstorming and coming across this post on Eating Bird Food, I decided to experiment with quinoa.

Quinoa is most often considered a grain, with the consistency of rice or couscous. But it is actually a relative of leafy greens like spinach (weird huh?). It is very high in amino acids–making it a super source of protein!

crunchy texture, nutty flavor, fluffy little pearls 🙂

I felt quinoa was very similar to oats–so I have been experimenting with a the protein-packed superfood for a few days. Last week I made a sort of cereal out of it and packed it for lunch. Since then, I have eaten it almost every day for either lunch or breakfast 🙂

Blueberry Quinoa Cereal

  • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1 cup milk of choice (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk, my fav!)
  • 1/3 cup frozen or fresh blueberries
  • sprinkle of cinnamon

Combine all ingredients in a bowl, give it a quick stir and enjoy! If you pack it for lunch…the longer the flavors sit, the yummier the quinoa gets!

***There are several ways to cook quinoa, but I have found that as long as you use one part quinoa to two parts water, it always turns out fine. Let the quinoa and water boil on the stove for about ten minutes, remove from heat and let rest, covered with a lid, for about five minutes to soak up any last bits of water. Quinoa stores well in the fridge, so you can make a large batch for the week!

After my cereal success, I was inspired by my overnight oatmeal to create a similar treat this morning (with a little prep last night 🙂 ).

Chocolate Overnight Quinoa

  • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa (note: uncooked quinoa will NOT work!)
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 cup vanilla almond milk or milk of choice
  • 1 heaping Tbsp. cocoa powder

Mix all ingredients in a bowl and let sit overnight in the fridge. Don’t have protein powder? No worries, this can be omitted. Just be sure to cut back on your liquid or it will be more soupy. In the morning, you can eat cold or zap the quinoa in the microwave for about a minute. Top with berries, chia seeds or frozen bananas!

The nutty flavor of the quinoa is a perfect pair for the chocolate! Like oatmeal, I bet it also works well with vanilla and cinnamon or other flavor combos, too.

Have a happy hump day! I am off to do some homework before I have my second practice with Commit 5K!

xoxox,

Kath

 

 

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Lunch, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Birthday Bonanza All Lilies, No Thorns

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. recimplicity  |  March 28, 2012 at 11:32 am

    Everything looks so good!

    I wish I could find a good substitute for chocolate…I am basically planning on going into a chocolate coma over Easter break

    Reply
  • 2. Rachel  |  March 31, 2012 at 9:21 am

    Hi! I just stumbled upon your blog, and I’m loving it! Quinoa for breakfast is a great idea because it packs a little extra protein (which I am always looking for) into breakfast with the same comforting texture as oatmeal. I have to say, the blueberry looks amazing. Do you ever zap it in the microwave? I really like a warm breakfast to start my day, and I wondered if heating the already cooked quinoa would change the texture or anything. I think I might have to give it a try! Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply
    • 3. Kath  |  March 31, 2012 at 5:37 pm

      I have put my protein overnight oats and quinoa in the microwave because sometimes I am in the mood for warm b-fasts, too. So I am sure putting the quinoa cereal in the microwave would work. I would just add the blueberries after you nuke it 🙂 Thanks for reading–let me know how it goes!!

      Reply
  • 4. Nicole  |  April 4, 2012 at 9:18 am

    wow, this looks great! up till now, I’ve only been eating quinoa as a salad, but your quinoa cereal mix looks soo good! Definitely gonna try this!

    Reply
    • 5. Kath  |  April 4, 2012 at 10:03 am

      Thanks Nicole for checking out the blog 🙂 Let me know how you like it!

      Reply
  • 6. savor the sweet life  |  April 10, 2012 at 9:00 am

    Ohh I love chocolate oatmeal…I have the same bag of quinoa at home as you have in your picture. I am going to try this out!

    Reply
    • 7. Kath  |  April 10, 2012 at 9:33 am

      I just discovered quinoa–I know it’s used a lot in savory dishes, but it’s nutty flavor actually works pretty well for breakfast (especially with chocolate! 🙂 )! Thanks for reading…let me know how it goes 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

