All Lilies, No Thorns

March 29, 2012 at 1:34 pm 2 comments

During my sophomore year of college, my friend Chelsea introduced me to the game Roses and Thorns. It was basically just something to talk about during our many trips to the dining halls–but we’d go around the table and each person would share their one “thorn,” or not-so-good thing, of the day and then share two happy “roses.”

Yesterday was a day filled with plenty roses–or in my case, lilies.

the birthday flowers from my mom are still going strong 🙂

Lily 1: Jogged 1.5 miles without stopping–WHOA! Personal best?! This Commit 5K training is great. Not only is it helping me complete a big fitness goal of mine (to run a 5K!) but it has also given me a whole community of people I enjoy talking to and running with. It is so much easier to jog, knowing I am surrounded by friends who support me and are working towards the same goal.

Lily 2: Lately, I have been struggling with the pressure of post-graduation plans and determining just exactly what it is that I want to do with my little life. So I met with my favorite career counselor, Gary, yesterday and he managed to talk some sense into me. It took him a few minutes to talk me out of my “Holy cow what am I doing after graduation?!” spiral. But in the end, he promised to help me not only figure out where my passion lies, but to help me follow it down the right path. Thank goodness for Gary!

 

Lily 3: I got in some good God time last night. I go to Every Nation Campus Ministries every Wednesday night to listen to our wonderful worship team and our campus pastor preach. Last night began a sermon series on freedom, and the message dealt with freedom from shame. Freedom from feeling weak, freedom from believing you do not belong, freedom from a heavy heart.

Where the spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.

This little message spoke volumes to me. All I can say is: God is good!

Today, I am so thankful for the lilies in my life: my friends & family, my faith, a healthy & happy life, Carolina blue sunny skies and of course readers like you 🙂

What roses or lilies have you encountered today?

Happy Thursday!

xoxox,

Kath

PS–any ladies need a little bit of inspiration out there? check out this great quote:

Entry filed under: Exercise, Faith, Me, UNC, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Quinoa Crazy Treats From a Foodie Pen Pal

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. garyalanmiller  |  March 29, 2012 at 1:41 pm

    That Gary dude rules. 🙂 Jokes aside, I’m honored. But, I noticed you said passion. I’m sure you meant curiosity. ha ha.

    p.s. I could never run 1.5 miles.

    p.p.s. I’m not stalking you, I just stumbled onto the link via your facebook post and since we just met yesterday, I was prompted to click…

    Reply
    • 2. kacline  |  March 29, 2012 at 1:51 pm

      haha you just made my day 🙂 thanks for all the help Gary–and I don’t think you’re a stalker. I’m glad you read it!!

      p.s. I’m in a transition phase to find my curiosity 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

