As Good As Pasta

April 4, 2012 at 10:00 am Leave a comment

Remember these stinky guys?

Last night I experimented with some more of the bean-fiber and tofu noodles. But this time they came in the form of short and squatty ziti noodles.

20 calories for about a cup of “pasta.” Works for me–even if they do smell like a fart before you rinse them 😉

I decided to use my little orange pepper to add some color to my pasta for dinner. One chopped pepper and a bowl of leftover roasted cauliflower later, the stove was sizzling!

Sticking to my spring cleaning re-vamped diet, and trying to spring clean the last of the veggies from my fridge before Easter break, I added a handful of fresh spinach to the mix right before I topped my pasta with the veggies.

What a colorful dinner, to go! 🙂

Here’s a rough approximation of how this dish went down:

Roasted Bell Pepper Pasta

  • 1 cup Shirataki noodles, rinsed thoroughly to get rid of the stink!
  • 1/2 bell pepper, sliced or chopped
  • 1 cup roasted cauliflower
  • 1 cup fresh spinach
  • 2 Tbsp. Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste (I used a few dashes of garlic salt)

Heat up a small skillet on medium-high heat. Saute the peppers in the EVOO for about 6-8 minutes, then add in your roasted cauliflower. If you don’t have roasted cauliflower, fresh cauliflower or any other veggie laying around in your fridge will do. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and saute for 3-5 minutes longer, stirring every so often until you get a nice char on the veggies. Add your spinach in at the last minute, just long enough to wilt and then top the noodles with your veggies. Ta-Da!

**Rinse your noodles under warm water for about 5 minutes while your veggies cook. There is no need to cook them–they’ll heat up under the warm water.

I’m off to do some studying and then to another Commit 5K practice!

Happy Hump day to you!

xoxxo,

Kath

Entry filed under: Clean Eating, Dinner. Tags: , , , , .

Spring Cleaning WIAW

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

