WIAW

April 5, 2012 at 10:00 am 3 comments

Woo hoo! It’s my first What I Ate Wednesday post.

I began my morning with a big bowl of overnight quinoa. I have really grown to love this nutty little seed–but come Sunday, Lent’s over and I will be all about some oatmeal 🙂

Protein packed!

Topped this bowl of quinoa with some homemade applesauce. I originally made the applesauce batch for Kyle because he gave me a big bag of Pink Lady apples (FYI there is no better apple than a pink lady apple!). But I forgot to bring it to him last weekend. And since I couldn’t resist let it go bad, I have been scoopin’ it out all week.

So cinnamon-y!

I got wrapped up in some homework and had to whip up lunch to go. Anytime I’m hungry and in a rush…the answer is always a smoothie.

Topped this Banana Berry smoothie with a small handful of slivered almonds. I brought this into my journalism professor’s office today, and I thought he was going to ask me for a sip. Try it out–its, simple and delish!

Banana Berry Smoothie

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1/4 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 – 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk or liquid of choice
  • Optional add-ins: 1 scoop vanilla protein powder, handful spinach, more berries, fruit juice

Blend them all together and enjoy! Top with granola or nuts for a some crunch!

As if I had not had enough fruit already today…then came this little snack between class…

It’s basically a bar made straight from cashews and dates. Larabars are gluten-free, clean eating at it’s best!

Now, I promise I had my veggies for the day. They came in the form of a big Subway sandwich on Honey Oat bread with turkey, provolone, lettuce, extra spinach, cucumbers, carrots, banana peppers, pickles and a little mustard. Definitely my favorite sandwich combo.

And in my true nut kase style, I forgot to take a photo of it before I inhaled it while doing some design homework. Whoops!

What was your WIAW?!

After I finish this crazy day of school I am heading back to Charlotte for Easter. Can’t wait to go home!

xoxox,

Kath

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Clean Eating, Lunch, WIAW. Tags: , , , , , , , .

As Good As Pasta How to Run Like a Crazy Person

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. recimplicity  |  April 5, 2012 at 10:13 am

    Have fun in Charlotte! I am looking forward to more oatmeal recipes 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Life After Swimming  |  April 6, 2012 at 6:35 am

    YAY have fun at home!!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Life After Swimming  |  April 6, 2012 at 6:36 am

    Taut!!!! Have fun at home! Happy Easter weekend! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

