WIAW #2: Yogurt & Quinoa Bowl

April 11, 2012 at 11:31 am 7 comments

Woo hoo–finally got that killer paper done! I was freaked out by my over procrastination, but I got it done by 9:30 p.m. last night. Whew! However, I’m back to spending my day in the library to crank out paper/presentation #2 for the week.

What I Ate Wednesday: Study Edition

I woke up this morning, knowing I needed some instant fuel to wake me up (I am really no good running on an empty stomach and 5 hours of sleep).

Hello coffee! I has a big cup with a splash of unsweetened vanilla almond milk and a sprinkle of stevia and cinnamon.

I also got a little creative with my quinoa…again.

Creamy Greek Yogurt and Quinoa Bowl

  • 3/4 cup Nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1 Tbsp. Agave or honey
  • sprinkle of cinnmon
  • optional: handful of berries, sliced banana, chopped nuts

I like to layer all the ingredients before I dig in. Scoop your yogurt into a small bowl and add the quinoa on top. Sprinkle with cinnamon–I bet pumpkin pie spice would be good, too! Drizzle your agave or honey on top and proceed to mix up and munch!

Creamy & cinnamon-y

Other eats for the day…

mid morning snack: Pretty pink grapefruit

Packed lunch: TJ’s low sodium roasted red pepper and tomato soup, spinach salad topped with a leftover chili lime chicken burger, pink lady apple (aka the best apple EVA) and a Kind bar for an afternoon snack.

Today is my 4th practice for Commit 5K. It’s a rest week, so we are taking it slowly and cutting back to only one mile. But nonetheless, I wanted to suit up in a super snazzy new tank 😉 It’s a Nike top with blocks of mesh and solid fabric. Oh, and a super neato pocket.

I think I am motivated by bright colors. When you wear funky clothes, you jog a bit faster, no?

What is your WIAW?

Happy Hump Day!

xoxox,

Kath

Entry filed under: Breakfast, Exercise, WIAW. Tags: , , , , .

Lesson Learned Pushing Past Giving Up

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Life After Swimming  |  April 11, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    Oh my gosh. You are seriously too adorable!!! And I need to take a lesson from you and learn to use quinoa…I have a box but only have used it once!!

    Reply
    • 2. Kath  |  April 11, 2012 at 1:16 pm

      I know what you mean! My quinoa sat in my pantry for a while. It was one of those “oh, this is healthy so I’ll buy it” buys that I never got around to actually using until a few weeks ago. But cook a big batch and use it throughout the week–its so simple to make! Plus, if you put honey or agave on anything, it tastes great 😉

      Reply
  • 3. cookingactress  |  April 11, 2012 at 1:01 pm

    OMG you remind me so much of my best friend! I can’t run…I waddle…like a duck…it’s embarassing 😛

    Reply
    • 4. Kath  |  April 11, 2012 at 1:19 pm

      Haha thanks! I really like your blog—I actually found you through my best friend’s blog (recimplicity.com). And girl, I am the queen of waddle-skip-running. Anything to make it more interesting 😉

      Reply
      • 5. cookingactress  |  April 12, 2012 at 11:02 am

        Ahahahaaaaa. Ty! I like your blog too–and your bff’s!

  • 6. FreshMutz  |  April 11, 2012 at 4:27 pm

    Love the tank! I’m not sure whether I am more motivated by bright work out clothes or new work out clothes. I think the latter.. but both get me going.

    I’ve been making my quinoa batches with chicken broth so I am not sure if that’s suitable for a breakfast bowl. Looks great though!

    Reply
  • 7. savor the sweet life  |  April 12, 2012 at 7:07 am

    Love the running tank. I seriously believe that if you feel like your look good you do awesome during your workouts. No one said that you couldn’t be cute while sweating! 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

