WIAW #3: Freezy Fruit

April 18, 2012 at 10:05 am 4 comments

It’s a little dreary outside, so I woke up this morning to a slow start.

However, there is nothing better than greek yogurt in the morning. Add a drizzle of agave, a sprinkle of cinnamon and a little bit of quinoa–and you have the breakfast bowl of champs. Not to mention of a big steamy cup of Chocolate Mate. Its spicy like chai tea, but chocolatey like a mocha. YUM!

It’s Senior Week over here. So that means a lot of things:

1. Exam week is next week…ahhhh! Excitement and craziness all wrapped up into one.

2. I am a senior–so that means I am graduating. Sometimes I have to remind myself of this. I tell myself it’s all a dream, and that I’ll wake up a freshman. But the 5 job applications I filled out yesterday beg to differ! 😉

3. It’s crunch time. Meaning snacks & meals are definitely on-the-go.

Freeze Dried Mangoes

My recent snack love is rather odd.

Anyone ever had freeze dried mangoes?

I picked these little gems up at Trader Joe’s just because I felt a little adventurous. And while they look like astronaut food…

they have a crunchy texture that melts in your mouth. After the initial crunch, the mango is almost creamy. It actually reminds me a little bit of ice cream.

At first, I thought these had to have a ton of chemicals in them in order to be freeze-dried. But there are no other ingredients in these weird/odd/tasty treats, except mangoes. And the best part?!?!

The big bag is one whole serving–only 190 calories!

What are you munching on this Wednesday? Have you ever tasted freeze dried fruit?

Well, I’m headed to the gym!

xoxox,

Kath

 

Entry filed under: Breakfast, WIAW. Tags: , , , , .

How to Boogie Like a Family Running on Empty

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. thenomnomnoms  |  April 18, 2012 at 11:55 am

    You should try the freeze dried raspberries too! I eat them on my greek yogurt all the time and they are kinda tart and tangy and delicious!

    Reply
    • 2. Kath  |  April 18, 2012 at 12:06 pm

      Oh, I’ll have to pick those up next time 🙂 Aren’t the so neat?!

      Reply
      • 3. thenomnomnoms  |  April 19, 2012 at 2:51 pm

        Yes! Craziest texture – but awesome!

  • 4. Life After Swimming  |  April 18, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    That chocolate mate sounds tasty!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

