a little love poem

April 23, 2012 at 8:43 am 3 comments

I hope your weekend was FANTASTIC! Mine was more than amazing, and I will have to catch you up on it a little later. Because right now I am about to go stand in line to get a ticket to see President Obama and the Dave Matthews Band on the Jimmy Fallon Show that is taping here on campus tomorrow!!! 🙂

So, I want to leave you with one of the coolest poems my roommate showed me last night. I put the title of the poem on the bottom–so check it out after you read it:

At 7:35 A.M, you lay your tired body on mine
before peeling off, like a slow band-aid.

At 8:40 you sprint home and make instant coffee.

At 9:45 we finally drink it, cold.
I finish your leftover half.

By 10:50 you are already breathless.
I live for every time we overlap.

When 11:55 comes I spend the entire minute convincing you to stay.
You never do.

By noon I put my hands on your shoulders and say, “Baby,
you’re getting thin. All this running in circles and barely sitting down to eat.”

At 1:05 you tell me that while you were gone,
15,300 babies were born.

At 2:10 you don’t say a word,
just come in and kiss me for sixty seconds straight.

At 3:15 we sit quiet, listening to rain falling everywhere
in the world at once: all 15,000 tons.

At 5:25 you meet me for happy hour.
My neck already salted, a lime wedged in my teeth,
a shot of tequila sitting on the bar.

At 6:30 I hear the ticking.
I count your heartbeat like seconds between thunderclaps.

By 7:35 I can see you in the distance,
each second a tease until you drape over me.
We always love quick and you never let me hold you.
I dream of drinking you through a straw.

At 8:40 you watch my beard grow 0.00027 of an inch.

At 9:45 we do not speak.
Too many people have died since we last met.

At 10:50 we pray for a meteor,
at least a clumsy kid to spill sugar in our gears.

11:55 is my favorite.
We’re only apart for mere minutes.

But at midnight you’ll apologize sixty times
because it will always be like this.

At 1:04 AM I am already sleeping.
It’s exhausting loving someone
who is constantly running away.

Megan Falley, “What the Hour Hand Said to the Minute Hand” (via fleurishes)

get it?

Is that not the coolest?! I’ll be back tomorrow to fill you in on weekend adventures. And at some point this week I plan on perfecting my protein brownie bars… 🙂

Have a Merry Monday!

Kath

Entry filed under: Me. Tags: , , , .

Running on Empty The Tarzan Jump

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Life After Swimming  |  April 23, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    Ahhh how exciting!!! That’s so cool that you get to go to that Jimmy Fallon show! Jealous!

    Reply
  • 2. savor the sweet life  |  April 23, 2012 at 8:44 pm

    My roommate in college was good friends with Megan (they went to high school together)! we went to a bright eyes show back in the day together…she is amazingly talented (and so nice!)

    Reply
    • 3. Kath  |  April 23, 2012 at 10:28 pm

      oh my gosh…what a small world! 🙂 Good poetry makes my heart smile, and this poem is wonderful!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

