The Tarzan Jump

April 24, 2012 at 8:50 am 4 comments

For our final class of the semester, my professor, Gary, decided to take our class to the Carolina Outdoor Recreation Center.

photo cred: Jenna Moore

I partnered with my good friend Lauren to tackle this crazy climb.

photo cred: Alexis Davis

It’s one of those things you sign up for because it sounds really neat and fun. And then you wind up 30 feet in the air with knobby knees, frozen on a tight rope. And you see your professor face-planted into the cables.

Photo cred: Jenna Moore

This was called he lilypad because this part of the course had two little parallel wires, with only two small pieces of wood to offer relief from the shimmy across. Gary through crawling across one your hand and knees would be the easiest way to get across. I guess not πŸ™‚

I was actually pretty ok with all the obstacles–except this thing called the Tarzan jump. And it was the first thing we had to do.

photo cred: Casey Brown

Here’s Gary taking a shot at it. And you may be thinking that this looks pretty simple. But before you can swing across to the opposite, very tiny platform, you have to grab the rope from where it dangles between the two platform in mid-air. This took a lot of reaching, stretching, and wishing I had prepped with some extra yoga. Right when I reached the rope with the tips of my fingers, I was so excited to reach it that I immediately swung myself onto the rope. And then…

BAM.

I completely forgot to lift my legs to get to the other platform. Instead, my shins hit the platform and while I made it over to the other side in one piece, I’ve got two identical bruises on my lower shins. Battle scars for a wet-your-pants-pushing-your-fear-of-heights-to-the-limit kind of adventure. But so worth the adrenaline rush πŸ™‚

After this craziness, I picked up a wrap and some other munchies with Ari and Chels.

Turkey, spinach, avocado, mozzarella

with a side of fresh pineapple

and some of my best friends

While we were out, I also picked up a replacement for my waning pb jar.

Dark chocolate pb? OH YEA!

πŸ™‚ Well I stood in line for 3 hours to get tickets to the Jimmy Fallon Show with President Obama and The Dave Matthews Band. I’ll be in the audience today while they film! Could my last week as a senior get any better?!

Much love,

Kath

Entry filed under: Dinner, Exercise, Friends, Me. Tags: , , , .

a little love poem Agave Roasted Chickpeas

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erin  |  April 24, 2012 at 11:45 am

    Oh your poor shins!
    Also don’t forget The Roots will be there too! Im looking forward to hearing a recap πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 2. Life After Swimming  |  April 24, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    That is too freaking cool!! Our swim team did something like that last year and had a BLAST!!

    Reply
    • 3. Kath  |  April 25, 2012 at 12:33 am

      It was so fun–were you able to do it without being too scared?! I was ok until I actually got up on the platforms. Ha πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 4. eatingasapathtoyoga  |  April 25, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    OH those obstacle things always scare me!!!! I feel like a junior higher again! I recently discovered Justin’s nut butters in the single serving packages? HEAVEN

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

