Fudgey Chocolate Protein Brownies

April 26, 2012 at 10:15 am 7 comments

I ended my last day of class as a Carolina Senior in a great way…

celebrating with my best friends on Franklin Street πŸ™‚

But I began my day concocting some sweet treats. There really is nothing better than brownies.

Or mini brownie muffins.

So I decided put a healthy spin on my love for chocolate (also, I just have a LOT of chocolate protein powder).

Fudgey Chocolate Protein Brownies/Brownie Muffins

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour or ground oats
  • 2Β  scoops chocolate protein powder
  • 4 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 cup Stevia
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1/2 cup milk of choice (I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees (F). Combine dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Whisk in egg whites, vanilla and milk until the mix looks like brownie batter. Place into muffin tins, or an 8 x 8-inch baking pan. Bake for 12-18 minutes. Enjoy!

Batter up

I think this one looks a little odd–like the head of a hammerhead shark, or the head of an iguana with its big eyes closed. Do you see it?!

Hammerhead or iguana…these brownies are moist and chocolatey with an airy texture. YUM.

A word to the wise: be careful, the mix can easily over bake and go from fudgey/cakey to dry if over-baked, so make sure you check it often. But give them a try! πŸ™‚

Well, I am off for a run. Happy Thursday!

xoxox

Kath

Entry filed under: Dessert, UNC. Tags: , , .

Agave Roasted Chickpeas Nuked

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Life After Swimming  |  April 26, 2012 at 10:46 am

    Those are adorable. Hope your run went well!

    Reply
    • 2. Kath  |  April 26, 2012 at 12:17 pm

      Thanks Nikki! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 3. momma d  |  April 26, 2012 at 11:34 am

    so glad you have great friends…makes life happy!!

    Reply
  • 4. recimplicity  |  April 26, 2012 at 11:35 am

    yum, looks great!
    I was thinking about running today, but now it is oddly dark and looks like the apocalypse is imminent outside..

    Reply
    • 5. Kath  |  April 26, 2012 at 12:16 pm

      I know, I walked home in the down pour… :/

      Reply
  • 6. rapratt  |  April 26, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    Yum! I’ll be right over πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 7. savor the sweet life  |  April 27, 2012 at 6:00 am

    Yum…I love love love brownies! What a good way to use up protein powder.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

