Crossing the Finish Line

May 7, 2012 at 12:08 pm 13 comments

Howdy and Happy Monday 🙂

Did anyone else have a crazy weekend? Mine was filled with, well, craziness. I spent yesterday helping out at the Swim for Smiles youth triathlon. About 200 kids participated in the event to raise money for the NC Children’s hospital. These cute kids are amazing–running, swimming and biking to help save other kids!

The rest of my weekend included graduation pics with my best friends, celebrating Cinco de Mayo with margaritas & my favorite NC State peeps, seeing Wicked for the first time with Winston (Vice Chancellor of UNC!) and running my first 5K! Whew!

Crossing That Dang Finish Line

Last Friday I geared up and ran my first 5K!

I had trained for 7 weeks to run this. I had come from not being able to run 5 minutes to running three miles! But even though I had practiced on the treadmill, I was nervous. So nervous,  I was quite jittery while getting ready. But making weird dance moves/running poses for Ari made me feel a bit better 🙂

I was nervous for one single, silly reason: what happens if I have to walk?

To me, walking was a crime. I thought it would be letting myself down. All that training needed to mean something. So when I lined up at the starting line, I said a little prayer and took off chanting “just keep running,” Dory style 🙂

And you know what? I made it through my first 5K in just under 31 minutes (30:54). It was my quickest time to date! Normally it takes me about 33 minutes on the treadmill in the gym. I am SO PROUD of myself. But do you want to know a little secret?!

I walked.

My first mile was going well until I came face to face with a giant hill. Running on the treadmill in the gym and running outside are two very different things–and I began to realize that after I was unusually tired after the first half of the race. So, I jogged half way up the big hill, and finished the rest walking. I probably walked for five minutes total. And you know what?! It was not devastating like I had thought it would be!

I thought walking would be a let down. But I realized the true accomplishment was being able to cross the finish line. 7 weeks ago, I don’t know if I could have done it. But with much practice, quality time spent in the gym, and boogie-singing-running, I completed my first 5K!! 😀

I came home to a big hug from my roommate Ari. She decorated my door in celebration! I have such a great best friend!

A few things I learned from my first 5K:

  • train both inside and outside to get a better feel for running on uneven/hilly terrain
  • walking is not the end-all-be-all: I actually finished faster than I ever have!
  • don’t forget deodorant (yes…I was that excited/anxious to get going, that I forgot it! )
  • start looking for the next race to run 🙂

 

Have you set any fitness goals lately? Are you thinking about running a race? I am really interested in a mud run or a sprint triathlon next!

Much love,

Kath

Entry filed under: Exercise, Me, Running. Tags: , , .

Keep Keepin’ On Maple Apple Crisp

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. recimplicity  |  May 7, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    Good for you, girl 🙂 Walking should not be considered “cheating” especially in Chapel Hill!
    You should definitely try a triathlon-you already have the swimming down.

    Reply
    • 2. Kath  |  May 7, 2012 at 9:31 pm

      I am looking up a few options and hope to do my first one this fall 😀

      Reply
  • 3. pacifiersandfruitloops  |  May 7, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    a lot of people believe that taking controlled walk breaks helps to prevent injuries and ultimately makes a stronger runner, so that is definitely not a ‘crime’! awesome finish time…congrats!!! and i love that first pic, ridiculously CUTE 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. Kath  |  May 7, 2012 at 9:31 pm

      thanks! 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. momma d  |  May 7, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    i am so proud of ALL your accomplishments…you are amazing!!

    Reply
  • 6. Courtney C  |  May 7, 2012 at 9:25 pm

    Congrats! I was really nervous when I ran my first race too back in November. They’re so addictive once you get over that hump though.

    You should do the color run in Charlotte: http://thecolorrun.com/charlotte/

    It’s the weekend before Halloween – looks like a lot of fun. Hoping to make it down from VA for that. 🙂

    Reply
    • 7. Kath  |  May 7, 2012 at 9:31 pm

      I have heard of that run…I would love to do it if you want to run it together 🙂

      Reply
      • 8. Courtney C  |  May 8, 2012 at 10:32 pm

        Definitely. I’ll have to let you know closer to that time if I can make it down. Hopefully so!

  • 9. Debby  |  May 7, 2012 at 11:49 pm

    Thats an awesome first run!!! Great job!!

    Reply
    • 10. Kath  |  May 8, 2012 at 10:18 am

      Thanks Debby!

      Reply
  • 11. Life After Swimming  |  May 8, 2012 at 8:56 am

    AHHH Congrats!!! You look so freaking cute 🙂

    Reply
    • 12. Kath  |  May 8, 2012 at 10:17 am

      Thanks Nikki 🙂 I need to start swimming again if I am ever going to attempt a triathlon!

      Reply
  • 13. savor the sweet life  |  May 8, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    Congrats! walking is my secret too…it gives me to to get my composure back and keeping pushing hard

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

