I’m a Food Stories Nominee!

May 23, 2012 at 9:28 am 3 comments

It’s always a good morning when you wake up to a face full of fur 🙂

blurry because all she wants to do is lick my cheek. oh, slobbery puppy kisses.

One of my favorite things about being home is getting to see my pretty puppies. This is Belle. She is our little border collie-mix that we rescued.

And this is her big sister Zoe, a long haired chihuahua. She’s actually not big at all….Zoe is an over-weight 7 pounds.

such a lazy princess!

When Belle is not crawling into my bed to wake me up, she likes to beat Zoe up by waving her favorite stuffed monkey toy in Zoe’s face. Zoe hates this, and tried to get away from crazy Belle by perching up on the sofa cushions. Well Belle caught on…and decided to make the sofa cushions her perch, too. Belle doesn’t realize she’s 8x Zoe’s size. I think Belle thinks she’s a Chihuahua. She’s definitely a nut—so we get along great 🙂

“Look! I can sit on sofa’s, too!!!!!!”

NEAT-O

Yesterday I was nominated by Erin at Recimplicity for the Food Stories Award in Excellence in Story Telling. Thanks Erin! Erin and I began food blogging around the same time and we share a passion for healthy eating and fitness. Not to mention she was my favorite roomie at UNC.

A requirement for this nomination is that I share a random fact about myself.

I HATE RAW TOMATOES AND MAYO.

If the only food left in this world were tomatoes and mayo, I would die a sad death.  I can’t stand the texture of raw tomatoes–the slimy, squishy-ness freaks me out (but oddly I love ketchup and spaghetti sauce!). And just starring at a jar of mayo triggers my gag reflex. I’m a goof, I know. There has only been one time I willingly ate mayo. It was the first time visiting my boyfriend’s house and his mom made us chicken salad sandwiches. It took all of my strength to eat just half the sandwich. I had to plan it out—so I decided to try to conquer the sandwich in two bites. I scarfed the sandwich so quickly, I’m not sure I even chewed. I tried to only let the bread touch my tongue, and drank lots of water to wash it down. That’s real love right there. Kyle, I hope you’re reading this! Eating mayo = true love 🙂

I also want to nominate a few of my fav foodies for this wonderful award!

Nikki at Life After Swimming

Nicole at Nicoliander Kitchen

Vicky at MenubyVicky

Savor the Sweet Life

Jill at Eating as a Path to Yoga

 

Love these blogs–check them out!

Have a wonderful Wednesday!

xoxox,

Kath

Entry filed under: Blog, Me. Tags: , , , .

Big Green Mess Mamacita

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicky Leung  |  May 23, 2012 at 9:44 am

    Thanks for nominating me 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. eatingasapathtoyoga  |  May 23, 2012 at 11:14 am

    Thank you for the nomination!! It is pure bliss to be thought of! Blessings!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Food Stories  |  May 23, 2012 at 11:35 am

    Congrats on your award. Love your story of tomatoes and mayo 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

