I Flip Tires, Yo

September 27, 2012 at 9:00 am 2 comments

For the past couple of weeks I have been going to a CrossFit gym in Cary (CrossFit Apx). And I’ll admit, it’s intense…like go run 100 meters, do 50 pull ups and jump rope for 2 minutes. Then repeat 5 times. As a warm up. Let’s just say I could not walk for the first few days of class!

My friend Mike and I joined earlier this month because of an awesome Groupon deal. Our CrossFit gym is inside a little warehouse, with nothing but a lot of weights, a crazy pull up/jungle gym contraption, and some boxes and tires. Yes, big ‘ol tires.

Oh right, and some sledge hammers. No big deal. 😉

Until today, I had never seen the tires. Then they come out of nowhere, sitting on the ground and looking like giant black doughnuts. As I walked up to them this afternoon, all I could think about was how many doughnuts I could eat because I was going to flip these bad boys. I concluded probably a dozen. One warm up and 14 flips later, I was exhausted. The giant black doughnut had kicked my butt—but I managed to actually get a few good flips in. And I didn’t even want to hit up Krispie Kreme on my drive home 🙂

Each day we have a warm up, a skill training and a workout of the day (WOD). The skill training is just a brief 15 minute workout to work on our form. Somedays it’s practicing power cleans and deadlifts. Other days it’s mastering the art of a pull up (which is SO difficult–they let me scale it down to goof ball level by letting me stand on a box while pull up-ing, so I can jump half way up and let my arms do the rest!).

Today our WOD consisted of a combo of pull ups, burpees, cleans and medicine ball throws. Followed by kettle bell swings and reverse crunches. Yesterday the WOD had us jumping rope more than 1000 times. WHOA! Can you say “Golly gee Kath–you’re going to be in such good shape?” My hopes exactly. 🙂

Hello sweat city!

Even though the workouts are hard, I am really enjoying the classes. My coaches are nice, but they don’t let me wimp out. They push me to work out to my fullest. And the other CrossFitters are encouraging and very helpful to a newcomer nut like me.

Since beginning my job, I have gained a few pounds. All those lunches and office breakfasts were catching up to me. But I have a feeling this Crossfit will work some magic. I feel better than I have in months and I have A LOT of energy. This first week I took my CrossFit classes, I actually gained 3 pounds. Is that weird?

We’ll see how the rest of this month goes–I’m really pumped!

Have you tried cross fit or boot camp style exercise? What do you think?!

Happy Thursday!

xoxox Kath

Entry filed under: Exercise. Tags: , , , , .

My Guy’s Birthday Weekend Finally Fall

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. d  |  September 27, 2012 at 12:46 pm

    you’re building muscles…they weigh more 🙂
    love the pictures…i miss you tons!!

    Reply
  • 2. Life After Swimming  |  September 28, 2012 at 10:57 am

    Jealous that you are doing crossfit! I wish there was one by me! You go, girl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

