Bazinga

April 3, 2013 at 10:00 am 2 comments

For a while, I thought I had created the word Bazinga. You know…it could have come to me in some kinda ninja-booty kickin’ dream. Hence the reason why I want to karate chop something when I say it.

Just try it.

BAZINGA.

Makes you want to karate chop something…right?

Ok, maybe it’s just me. 🙂

So when I set out to create a spicy lettuce wrap–this is the only word I could think of to describe it. They’re spicy, tangy, crunchy and healthy.

BAZINGA.

Spicy Lettuce Wraps

Spicy Turkey Lettuce Wraps

Wrap

  • 1 lb. ground turkey (I’ve used chicken too, and it works just as well!)
  • 1 small can of water chestnuts, drained
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 head butter lettuce, leaves rinsed and patted dry
  • 1 small bunch of scallions, chopped
  • 2-3 bell peppers, chopped

Sauce

  • 6-8 TBS Ponzu sauce
  • Squirt of Sriracha (more or less, depending on how bazinga spicy you like it)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  1. Brown meat over medium-high heat. Add water chestnuts, salt and pepper and cook for 1 minute longer.
  2. While the meat is cooking, I like to chop my scallions and peppers. You can really add any veggie you like on your wrap…you can even add the peppers in with the meat if you like them cooked.
  3. While the turkey and water chestnuts are still warm, arrange the meat on the lettuce “cups” and top with peppers and scallions. Drizzle with the the ponzu-sriracha sauce and enjoy!

This makes 4 servings, and each serving makes 2-3 lettuce wraps.

Per Serving: 230 Calories, 16g carbs, 8g fat, 26g protein

eat the rainbow

IMG_2903

IMG_2898

These wraps are spicy little pockets of crunchy yumminess. And they are healthy.

BAZINGA.

((After a quick google search, I learned I may or may not have gotten it from this show. For now, let’s just roll with this ninja/dream/karate chop idea…))

Are you a fan of spicy food?

I can’t get enough of it!

 

Happy Hump day y’all!

xoxox, K

Entry filed under: Clean Eating, Dinner, Lunch. Tags: , , , .

Gettin’ Back in the [healthy] Game Color Mania 5K

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. diane  |  April 3, 2013 at 10:49 am

    oh my….are those chives?….from the garden 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Life After Swimming  |  April 3, 2013 at 5:15 pm

    ok so don’t get mad at me but i’ve never had sriracha! EEK! haha I do like spicy though 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

