Simply Stuffed Peppers

April 12, 2013 at 10:00 am Leave a comment

Good morning friends!

First of all–let’s just state the obvious. IT’S FRIDAY!

WAHOO! AWESOME! I’M-SO-FREAKIN’-EXCITED!

With Spring time rollin’ into NC, I have had a pretty awesome week. Any week that brings sunshine, warm air and flowers is a wonderful week.

IMG_3347

I don’t need the huge clouds of pollen. But I’m loving the spring flowers!

So, new-to-me this week has been some fun early morning exercise classes at my gym [more to come on that later…] and a yummy experiment in my kitchen.

I give you…

IMG_3364

Heart-shaped red peppers are the yummiest!

Simple, cheesy, low-carb, high-protein stuffed peppers. All in about 30 minutes. BAZINGA!

Stuffed Bell Peppers

  • 3 bell peppers, any color
  • 1 lb. lean ground turkey
  • 1 T EVOO
  • 1 sweet onion, chopped
  • 1/2 lb. white mushrooms, chopped
  • 2 T reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • a few shakes of Italian herb blend
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheese (I used part-skim mozz)
  • 6 slices of cheese (I used lite white cheddar from TJ’s..SO good!)
  1. Preheat oven to 350*.
  2. Place a skillet over medium-high heat and add EVOO, turkey, onions, mushrooms, soy sauce and garlic.
  3. While they begin to brown, halve and de-seed the peppers. Line on a baking sheet to be filled.
  4. While the meat “stuffing” is cooking, add a few shakes of italian seasoning and salt and pepper to taste.
  5. When browned, drain and place in a large bowl. Stir in shredded cheese–just long enough to let the cheese melt slightly.
  6. Fill the peppers with the mixture. Stuff those babies!
  7. Place one cheese slice on top of each stuffed pepper.
  8. Bake for 20 minutes and the broil for 1-2 minutes more, keeping an eye on the peps so they don’t burn.
  9. And finally…ENJOY! 🙂

IMG_3357

IMG_3358

IMG_3366

 

6 Servings (each pepper half): 250 cal, 7g carbs, 14g fat, 26g protein

YUM!! The combo of soy sauce and italian herbs may seem odd–but it works. You’re mouth will thank you. They are simple to throw together and can even be eaten like a little taco. Anything that can be eaten like a taco gets bonus foodie points in my recipe book.

Are you a fan of bell peppers?

It took me a while to get used to the taste, but now I love them. They are always a staple on my grocery list!

Inspired by all the springtime colors and blooms, I stopped by Lowe’s this afternoon–so I’ll be spending my weekend planting some of these pretties…

IMG_3351

Well, happy Friday!

 

Entry filed under: Dinner. Tags: , , .

Color Mania 5K Look for the Helpers #prayforboston

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

