Hello World

November 10, 2014 at 8:00 am 3 comments

Hey oh hey world-

Holy moly, I think my last post was more than a year ago.

Wait, yes it was. Because I see pictures of bunnies and fair food.

I was in Target (my second home) Sunday afternoon when I suddenly I felt the need to write again. Maybe it was the little Christmas tree wonderland, or the dozens of snowflake cookie cutters I passed that made me a bit nostalgic, but whatever it was, I’m glad I’m back to writing.

As I’m sitting here trying to decide how to open with this long-overdue post that only a handful of people–if any–are going to read, I figure I may as well begin with what I originally wanted the Nut Kase to be about:

Health & Happiness.

Health

Since my appendectomy almost a year ago (RIP lil’ appendix!), I’ve struggled with some digestive issues that I think are mainly due to stress. Work stress. Friend stress. Life stress. While I had hoped to fix this with some simple remedies, I realized I probably needed to try a bit harder than taking more vitamins, running with my Couch to 5K app, and attending a yoga class a few times a month. 🙂

While home a few weeks ago, I ran into one of my old neighbors. In her cute cream knit sweater, with a sassy little Jenn-Aniston-In-Friends style haircut–she was absolutely glowing both inside and out.  After sharing an encouraging story with me about her own health journey, she attributed her great results to the Paleo diet. Now, I use the word “diet” hesitantly, because I like to view this as more of a healthy life choice per se, than diet.

The key to Paleo? No processed food, grains, dairy, legumes or refined sugar. Just whole foods, lots of fruits and veggies, protein, good fats and complex carbs. Easy peasy.

NOT.

After wanting to eat a handful of candy corn so bad it hurt, I finally made it through the sugar withdrawal and I am on my third week now of Paleo eating. And honestly, it’s been wonderful.

Paleo grocery shopping

Paleo grocery shopping = lots of fresh produce

In just three short weeks, I feel a world better. That weighed-down, sluggish feeling is gone. And I’m proud of myself! Now I just need to get over my fear of the YMCA weight room to add in more strength-training exercises to my workout routine, and I’ll be set!

Happy

I’ll be honest, if you had asked me earlier in the year if I was happy, I probably would have told you it depends on the day. I think people tend to go through peaks and valleys in life, and earlier this year I was in a valley.

As I’ve begun to pick myself back up, I’ve realized there are plenty of things to be grateful for. I’m thankful that I have a job, a nice place to live and a kind, silly roommate. I’m thankful for the loving, unrelenting support from my friends and family. I’m thankful for God’s perfect, peaceful grace. And I am even thankful for this darn valley…because without it, I don’t think I’d be half as grateful to be where I am, nor would I be able to recognize how far I’ve come.

I recently found this quote on one of my many Pinterest binges, and I love it.

IMG_3513

It’s a perfect reminder to enjoy what we have, because really, life is meant for living and loving. A little bit of stress and a few valleys aren’t the end of the world. 🙂

So, here’s a little show and tell of the happiness I’ve been finding lately.

IMG_3736

Getting Grumps to give us a {goofy} smile? Priceless.

IMG_3651

Fall flowers are alive and kickin’ on my balcony. Well, except for the dahlia. The dahlia was a long shot, anyways. 🙂

Selfies with my beautiful boo.

What’s better than a selfie-shoot with my beautiful boo? Practically nothing.

IMG_3744

Showed up to work as a Piñata for Halloween. Someone asked me if I was a Post-It note girl!

IMG_3797

Yes, one of my best friends and I did spend all night creating the belt headband for her boyfriend’s Quailman costume. #truefriend

IMG_3787

Celebrating birthdays, dancing like goofs, exploring downtown Raleigh!

Continuing to better myself and be thankful for all the little things that bring such joy to my life is an easy way to remember that life doesn’t have to be perfect to be wonderful.

I’m glad to back…Happy Monday!

xox,

K

PS–in case anyone is wondering, I did breakdown in Target in the Christmas cookie aisle–I have no willpower.

IMG_3799

Saving these guys for a bake-athon in December!

Entry filed under: Clean Eating, Family, Friends, Inspiration, Me. Tags: , , , , .

A Scare & the Fair

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. momma d  |  November 10, 2014 at 10:44 am

    so glad your back…love you to the moon!

    Reply
  • 2. Sally Scruggs  |  November 12, 2014 at 7:16 am

    Kathleen! I’m so glad you’re blogging again. I have been slowly easing in to paleo for about two years now. I started by eliminating refined grains and sugar–stayed in that stage for a while–then began eliminating other high starch foods and nuts, and most recently…dairy. Dairy has been the hardest. I’d struggled my whole life with weight issues, depression, bad skin and gut issues. Paleo has definitely helped me with all of those things. There’s also a ton of other information about gut health I’ve learned along the way. I’m so excited you’re seeing the benefits, too, and I can’t wait to read about your journey! P.S. I love G.T.’s Kombucha! I just bought a case of the green one, and going to try to make my own SCOBY from a bottle of the original flavor…P.P.S. I also have no appendix 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Barbara Watson  |  November 13, 2014 at 6:14 pm

    Good to see you’re writing again.

    Sent from my iPad

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Call me Kath!

connect with me

Follow Me on Pinterest

Recent Posts

Enter your email address to follow my blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 989 other followers

The Lean Green Bean

